JULSTÄMNING I TORONTO

This weekend I spent in Toronto, visiting my fathers host sister and her family, to whom my relationship is, as Kolby so nicely described it, complicated. Anyways, I had a wonderful weekend. I arrived with the train friday evening in Toronto where they picked me up. Back at their place they greeted me with all kinds of swedish things such as knäckebröd, glögg och pepparkakor, telling me that if you weren't homesick before, we're gonna make you homesick. I wouldn't say I got homesick really, but it sure was nice being surrounded by swedish things.

Saturday we went to the Toronto annual swedish market, where they sold swedish christmas decorations, herring and a bunch of other stuff. And they were all wearing the traditonal folkdräkt, it might've actually been the most people I've seen wearing them at the same time. 
 
Och när man kan köpa vad som helst svenskt, vaaaaaad köper Elin? - Knäckebröd! Och sill såklart, här ska firas jul förstår ni ;) 
Aaaaaaaaand, they had a luciatåg, which was adorable, all little blond kids singing the traditional songs with a bit of accent. (Du hade älskat det Johanna, jisses vad söta dom var)
 
After the swedish christmas market we went and looked at some stuff belonging to the Grey Cup, which is a huge football event held in different parts of Canada every year, which this year actually was the 100th time they have it. Not a hundred consecutive years though, they had a couple of years during the first world war when they didn't have it. Atferwards we went to a huge place called the fan zone where a whole lot of people walked around dressed up in their teams colours, even more outgoing than franco or bleu-blanc-rouge. Canadians, eh! ;) 
(Christmas decorations in the mall, and do notice the very tiny H&M sign on the left side of the tree)
 
As for the rest of the week, me and Ann got to know a new person, a swedish guy going to CCVS (another high school in Cornwall) who new someone that knew someone at our school who knew I was also from sweden so he stalked my on facebook. It's weird isn't it, how in Sweden you would never talk to a random stranger but as soon as you get out of the country it's like oooh you're swedish too, eh???? (Proudly adapting the culture by adding "eh" to my everyday-vocabulary.) 
 
Friday in school it was lumberjack-day, so almost everyone was dressed in checked shirts, boots, hats and braids. (I did a lot of braiding...) My dance class where part of the performance, so we were dancing, and I actually didn't mess up too bad.
 
Also people ran a kind of race where they pretended to be lumberjacks, so this ladies and gents is my french teacher. Somehowe I can not see our teachers at Nösnäs agreeing to do something like this...
   So what they did where first lying on the floor pretending to be asleep and then when the music started they had to put on the typical clothes, then drinking maple syrup and eating bacon, without hands. After that they got shaving cream on their faces, have to "shave it off" and then shoot a deer, walk with snow shoes over a couple of mattresses, pile some logs and saw off another log. All this racing the other person. So a couple of teachers did it and then students, grade against grade, while the others cheered all they could. Really nice!  
 
Och här Hanna, har vi dom fina julmotivskopparna, visst är dom tjusiga?
 
Trackback
RSS 2.0